Saturday, November 4th, 2017   ( 1 year ago )

Javier Castellano Wins 15th Bill Shoemaker Award

Javier Castellano, winner of the 2017 Bill Shoemaker Award © Eclipse Sportswire

DEL MAR, Calif. (Nov. 4, 2017) – Javier Castellano, who won the first race of the 2017 Breeders’ Cup with Rushing Fall in the Juvenile Fillies, parlayed that victory with a runner-up finish, three third-place finishes and a fourth to win the 15th Bill Shoemaker Award, given to the most outstanding jockey of the World Championships hosted by Del Mar racetrack.

The Shoemaker Award is based on a 10-5-3-1 scoring system on first- through fourth-place finishes in each of the 13 Breeders’ Cup World Championship races.

Castellano finished with 25 points to edge Jose Ortiz, Flavien Prat and John Velazquez, all with 23 points. Velasquez was the only rider to win two races in the 13-race showcase.

Castellano finished second in the TwinSpires Sprint on Imperial Hint and was third in the Juvenile Turf (Voting Control), Filly & Mare Sprint (Carina Mia) and West Coast (Classic) and fourth in the Sentient Jet Juvenile on Givemeaminit.

The Shoemaker Award is named in honor of one of the greatest jockeys in the history of Thoroughbred racing. Shoemaker, who captured the Kentucky Derby four times, won more than 8,800 races in a career that spanned more than 40 years. In 1987, at age 56, Shoemaker won the Breeders’ Cup Classic aboard Ferdinand at Hollywood Park.

Bill Shoemaker Award winners:

Year Jockey
2003 Alex Solis
2004 John Velazquez
2005 Garrett Gomez
2006 Frankie Dettori
2007 Garrett Gomez
2008 Garrett Gomez
2009 Julien Leparoux
2010 Garrett Gomez
2011 John Velazquez
2012 Mike Smith
2013 Mike Smith
2014 John Velazquez
2015 Ryan Moore
2016 Mike Smith
2017 Javier Castellano