Sluggo4171 wrote:Disagree with ya DGstan...he must mantain possession throughout the completion of the play and he didnt. Replay clearly shows he didnt.
That's the point. The play WAS complete. When both of his feet touch the ground with control of the ball - Touchdown Raiders!!! He had total control of the ball until the it hits the ground. This is well after both feet come down. If he was juggling the ball, then it's incomplete - but at no point was the ball not in his complete control until after he's already down.
It's like saying a receiver who spikes the ball in the endzone after a catch never actually caught it. How long are these guys supposed to hang onto the ball? Both his feet (and his rump) were on the ground before the ball came out. All the rules I'm reading refer to a receiver who does not have full control of the ball. You cannot deny the ball was in his control. It never so much as moves until it gets knocked out by the ground.
Watch it again: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taoJjvL9e7g
The reality is that this play will precipitate another rule change, just like the motherloveing Tuck Rule. Yes - we're still pissed about that.